T H E   S O C I E T Y

The Austrian Pharmacological Society (APHAR) was founded in 1995 and is based in the Institute of Pharmacology of the Medical University of Vienna.

The aim of APHAR is the promotion and public representation of experimental and clinical research in pharmacology in Austria and its representation in international umbrella organisations.

APHAR is member of the International Union of Pharmacology (IUPHAR), the Federation of European Pharmacological Societies (EPHAR) and the European Association of Clinical Pharmacology and Therapeutics (EACPT).

N e w s :

The Austrian Pharmacological Society APHAR is pleased to announce that its member
em.o.Univ.-Prof. Dr. Dr.h.c. Athineos Philippou
was honoured with the Schmiedeberg-Plakette, the highest Honour of the German Society for Pharmacology and Toxicology.

Our most sincere congratulations !

→ Laudation by DGPT

APHAR 2022
26th Scientific Symposium of APHAR

23 – 24 September 2022
Graz, Austria

APHAR is pleased to announce that the 26th Scientific Symposium can now take place as a face-to-face event. More information can be found hier.

APHAR Research Awards 2022: Call for Applications:

Hans Horst Meyer Award 2022
(2.000 €)
Deadline for applications: 15 July 2022

Ausschreibungstext (DE)

Heribert Konzett Award 2022
(3.000 €)
Deadline for applications: 15 July 2022

Ausschreibungstext (DE)

1st APHAR Research Highlights Online Symposium
12 April 2022

In order to resume activities for its members even in times of uncertainties regarding possibility of face-to-face meetings, APHAR intoduces a new meeting format:
On 12 April the 1st APHAR Research Highlights Online Meeting will take place. Plese click on the icon on the left (or on the link above) to see the preliminary program. Abstracts shall be published in Intrinsic Activity. The meeting has been accredited by the Austrian Medical Association with 5 DFP credits (ID 734579).

News 10.04.2022: Program updated
(includes meeting link)

Stellungnahme der Österreichischen Pharmakologischen Gesellschaft (APHAR) zu gefährlichen Falschinformationen über die Behandlung der Coronavirus-Infektion COVID-19

APHAR 2021
26th Scientific Symposium of APHAR

Joint Meeting with the Hungarian Society for Experimental and Clinical Pharmacology

Vienna, Austria
new target date: September 2022

Due to the imponderabilities regarding regulations for events such as rules for maximum number of participants and safety distances to be observed that might still be in place at the venue of the event, the Medical University of Vienna in February 2021, the Executive Committee of APHAR and the local organisers, the Institute of Pharmacology of the Medical University of Vienna, were forced to decide to again postpone the event until later in 2021. The new target date of the meeting is September 2021. More information will follow shortly.

It is with great sadness that the Austrian Pharmacological Society must announce the death of its honorary member,

Univ.-Prof. Dr. Oleh Hornykiewicz

His fundamental work on the physiological role of dopamine as a neurotransmitter and the pathophysiological mechanisms of Parkinson's disease led him to pioneering clinical trials to use L-DOPA as a therapy for this condition. The Austrian Pharmacological Society honoured him in 2003 by awarding honorary membership.

A detailed obituary by Harald Sitte and Christian Pifl from the Medical University of Vienna can be found → here.

Photo: Archiv APHAR, 2003

EPHAR 2020 → 2021
8th European Congress of Pharmacology

Prague, Czech Republic
new date: 28 March –1 April 2021

Dear colleagues, due to the well-known circumstances with the Covid-19 global pandemic situation we regret to inform you that the EPHAR congress in Prague had to be postponed, so it will become EPHAR 2021. The new date is 28 March –1 April 2021. The online registration will be re-opened on 1 September 2020.

Heribert Konzett Award
donated by

The awardee of 2019 is:

  • Julia KARGL
    Section of Pharmacology, Otto Loewi Research Centre
    of the Medical University of Graz

    → (PubMed) (Externer Link)

Hans Horst Meyer Award
donated by

The awardee of 2019 is:

  • Anna THEILER (Section of Pharmacology, Otto Loewi Research Centre of the Medical University of Graz) for her paper: "Butyrate ameliorates allergic airway inflammation by limiting eosinophil trafficking and survival" (J Allergy Clin Immunol, 2019; 144(3):​764–766)

Joint Meeting of the Austrian Neuroscience Association (16th ANA Meeting) and the Austrian Pharmacological Society (25th Scientific Symposium of APHAR)

Innsbruck, 25–27 September 2019

with SFB – F44 Satellite Symposium
Innsbruck, 24 September 2019

Intrinsic Activity, 2019; 7(Suppl.1) 11.09.2019: Abstracts have been published in
Intrinsic Activity, 2019; 7 (Suppl. 1)

Geschichte und Wirken der pharmakologischen, klinisch-pharmakologischen und toxikologischen Institute im deutschsprachigen Raum:
Soeben veröffentlichte em. Univ.-Prof. Dr. med. Dr. h. c. Athineos Philippou, Gründer und ehemaliger Vorstand des Instituts für Pharmakologie und Toxikologie der Universität Innsbruck, Band V: "Autobiographien II und ausgewählte Biographien" dieses Werks. …

Members of APHAR who have obtained the diploma as Medical Specialists in Pharmacology and Toxicology from the Austrian Medical Association and who fulfil the requirements for Certification as European Certified Pharmacologists (EuCP) may send an application to the Austrian Pharmacological Society.

Information for applicants

Job offers:

New job offers (Prof, PostDoc, PhD, Wiss. Mitarb., etc.) can be found in our job exchange
new entries: 01.12.2022